IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati

Eight candidates will participate in the repeat presidential election slated for October 26th.

This is according to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission who says the decision was reached following a high court ruling on Wednesday directing that Ekuru Aukot be included in the ballot.

The electoral commission however says though it has received a letter from Raila Odinga withdrawing from the race he is yet to submit statutory form 24A as required by law.

In a statement issued Thursday evening, the commission clarified that the October 26 repeat presidential poll will go on as planned.

The commission has however asked the National Super Alliance flag bearer Raila Odinga to submit statutory form 24A following his withdrawal from the repeat poll.

Part of the statement reads;

“The law allows a candidate to withdraw higher candidature by delivering to the Commission a duly filled Form 24A. This Form is provided for by the Elections (General) Regulations. We note that the Rt. Honorable Raila Odinga and his running mate sent a letter dated 10th October 2017 indicating that they had decided to withdraw from the fresh Presidential Election. They, however, have not submitted the statutory Form 24A”

“Once the Commission receives the requisite notice from any of the candidates, it will process the same in accordance with the requisite provision of the Law”.

The Supreme Court ordered that a fresh Presidential election be held within a period of 60 days from the 1st of September 2017.

The Commission further confirmed it had gazetted the names of the two main candidates President Uhuru Kenyatta and his running mate William Ruto, and opposition leader Raila Odinga and his running mate Kalonzo Musyoka.

The commission now says it will comply with the courts directive to include the name of Ekuro Aukot and the other five candidates by way of corrigenda.