A handful of election losers in the last General Election have been awarded plum parastatal jobs as board directors and board members.

In what appears to be informed by the handshake deal, the beneficiaries are drawn from across the political divide.

President Uhuru Kenyatta, in a gazette notice, has appointed former Kajiado Governor David Nkedianye as chairperson of the National Water Harvesting and Storage Authority and Former Laikipia Governor Joshua Irungu as chairperson of the Water Services Regulatory Board.

Kitui Central Member of Parliament Joe Mutambo was picked to chair the Water Resources Authority while Gonzi Rai, who lost the Kinango Parliamentary seat in the last elections, has been appointed chairperson Kenya Fisheries Service.

Wavinya Ndeti, who recently lost her bid to challenge Governor Alfred Mutua’s re-election, has been appointed chairperson of Kenya Water Institute while Kalembe Ndile has been appointed Board member of Tana Athi Water works.

Olga Karani, a confidant of Opposition chief Raila Odinga and ODM official, has been appointed to chair the Council of the Kenya Cultural Centre while former Kajiado Governor David Nkedianye is now the chairperson of the National Water Harvesting and Storage Authority.

Former Taita Taveta Woman Representative Joyce Lay is now a member of the Water Sector Trust Fund board.

Renowned Kenyan Athlete Paul Tergat, who is the current National Olympic Committee of Kenya (NOCK) President, has been appointed the chair Kenya Academy of sports Council while his counterpart Kathrine Ndereba has been appointed a member.

Agnes Muthama and Beatrice Marshall have been appointed members of the Tana Athi Water Works Development Agency and Kenya Institute of Mass Communication respectively.